The LaSalle Gallery  

Visit Our Feature Exhibit

The LaSalle Wine Vats

The Winery Building is Farmington's most historic building

Built as a powerhouse in 1899, it was converted into the LaSalle Winery by Morris Twoney owner of The Windsor Wine Company. He moved the operation to Farmington and began to operate as The La Salle Winery on April 10th 1933. just as Prohibition came to an end.

Did You Know?

The La Salle Wine company was once the largest winery in Michigan and the third largest in the united states?

Other Sources

LaSalle Wine Ad Lasalle/Enterprise Article

"Local History -Its Ours to Keep!" © FJHM

LaSalle's Unique Concrete Aging Vats
The LaSalle Winery was converted from an electric powerhouse to a winery therefore several unique features were added in order to produce wine.
One of these features is a series of concrete vats which were used for aging some of the wines at the winery. These vats were made of poured concrete much like a basement is made today. The only way to get inside through a was a small opening less than 2 feet tall and one foot wide.
These vats were built in the early 1930's and were made of concrete and lined with window glass to seal the vats to keep the wine inside.
These vats are unique to The Old Winery and can not be seen anywhere else.